Sharing Lungs - Deftones Online Community

the seattle scene

Started by kalhan, May 29, 2008, 09:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kalhan

i was listening to mudhoney (fucking amazing, fyi) and i couldn't think of more bands that happen to have that seattle grunge sound... other than, say, alice in chains.

i've been listening to sonic youth for about 9 years now and i still don't get tired of it, there's a certain amount of energy in each riff that's really captivating... nirvana would be the obvious mention here but what about something underground... from, say, the 2000s?

any recommendations?

theis

pearl jam,
soundgarden,
temple of the dog,
mad season,

etc...

Jacob

except for the obvious grunge/seatlle-rock bands (that Az mentioned above) there are some more obscure bands that never really entered the mainstream. The Melvins, Screaming Trees and Mother Love Bone are a few. then there are even more underground bands that aren't really any good as far as I know.
pray nightfall release me
then i could wander, wander to deep sleep

Mascara Snake

Screaming Trees are one of the great bands from that time that never got the recognition they deserved, Start with 'Sweet Oblivion' then 'Dust' then work your way backwards, you wont be disappointed.

"Information is not knowledge. Knowledge is not wisdom. Wisdom is not truth. Truth is not beauty. Beauty is not love. Love is not music. Music is THE BEST..."  Frank Zappa

fireflyry

Quote from: tiger modeThats why we're all here. Deftones - common ground.

samson simpson

send me my flannel tee dammIT!

whodunit?

it has died in 1994, thank god...

fireflyry

Quote from: tiger modeThats why we're all here. Deftones - common ground.

defskull

Since 2000s right? Why are these all pre 2000s?

How about These Arms are Snakes, Fall Of Troy, Blood Brothers, Botch, Minus The bear?

EDIT: Whoops this is grunge only. Nevermind.

moonlapse vertigo

Quote from: defskull on May 30, 2008, 11:01 PM