Sharing Lungs - Deftones Online Community

Overrated albums

Started by Crazylegs, Mar 17, 2014, 05:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Crazylegs

Do you ever listen to something that you just can't understand the hype for? I do. Sometimes it seems arbitrary to me what albums or releases are just uniformly accepted as a band's/artist's greatest work, or even good at all.

Here's an example from my mind:

Godspeed You! Black Emperor - Lift Yr. Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven!

I find this album to be mediocre when compared to some of their other releases, like Yanqui U.X.O. and Slow Riot for New Zerø Kanada.

black coffee

What I often hear from people is that they like the album most that introduced them to a certain band, so when for instance, Lift Yr... is considered to be Godspeed's best, people willl read about it on the internet or in magazines and listen to that album first.
And then theres a probability that its gonna be their favorite. I'm no scientist, but I think there is a correlation.

Crazylegs

I think you're probably right about that, it sounds very reasonable. Still the "fact" that it's overrated remains.

Another album i think is totally overrated is My Bloody Valentine's Loveless. It's nice and all, but fuck me...

kurtone

Anything by the Beatles. I don't get it.

Diplo

Yeah people don't make the difference between the best album and the most famous.
After all it depends on a lot of things, sometimes the album is great at any point, it's an improvement musically, the beginning of a kind of music or something else but you will never understand that just because you have not the same "music history".
It's all about felt and influence.

This makes me think about the transition between Around The Fur and White Pony, both are considered to be the best. I would have liked being here to see this transition.

Not original but for me I think about Red Hot Chili Peppers – Californication

Quote from: kurtone on Mar 18, 2014, 09:59 PM