Sharing Lungs - Deftones Online Community

Deftones Albums.... As it relates to a period of your life

Started by xLhabiax, Oct 17, 2012, 05:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

xLhabiax

So I was thinking about this recently; looking back on the first Deftones album I bought in 99 (Around the fur) up until the most recent (Diamond Eyes) I realized that the albums really captured a certain period of my life. I don't know if this is going to make any sense (or has already been discussed, and if it has delete this thread mod lol) but 3 of their albums really stand out to me because of what memories I can draw from that time around the albums release.

White Pony, actually the summer after it came out which would also be the year I graduated high school and started partying is something I'll always remember. Mainly digital bath and change, I feel like nearly everyday during the summer of 2001 when one of us would crack a beer or roll a joint I'd hear one of those two songs, and the funny thing (that im still proud) is those people who remain close friends of mine weren't even Deftones fans until that summer. That summer was just a big, long, party (and judging by the Entertain Me leak the guys were indulging just as much as we were) that I'll never forget.

Self titled hit me at a darker period, like the guys I was coming out of a bad relationship and a period of bouncing from girl to girl that eventually lead to depression where I was drinking heavily. The three songs from that album are Deathblow, Girls Telephone, and Battleaxe....they are dark, desperate sounding songs and I couldn't describe where I was mentally any better than Chino does through his lyrics. I love that album but it still reminds me of some pretty depressing times in my life, luckily it's something I can still go back and listen to while appreciating the art of the music instead of harking on the past.