Sharing Lungs - Deftones Online Community

The "Yee old drugs and creativity" argument

Started by Robotsatemygrandma, May 15, 2011, 09:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Robotsatemygrandma

We've read about it, we all know about it. But honestly, is it really true that creativity driven by chemicals produces better results?

From personal life experience, for me, it is true. That body of work always receives more praise than my sober work, personally and professionally. Kind of pisses me off. It's like a stigma that I can't shake or ever depart from... ever. It covers everything I've done. Music, art, and even when I worked as a graphic designer.

The one exception has been my writing.

I know many authors, musicians, and artists are sober and create awesome results... but it seems like the greats are always plagued with this affliction.

Any rebuttals or thoughts would be awesome!

lostpilot

wither-I

all you need is duende. you either have it or you don't. and some weed...

"coming into the nearness of distance"

lostpilot

I wanted to get back to the topic because I did not really have the time before.

I'd say drugs are an influence to an artist. And it subjectively depends on a particular artist as a person. Though at the same time I know people who can stay off drugs and create wonderful things - therefore "drugs = creativity" is not a necessity but an optional situation. And in my personal opinion one cannot be judgmental of a person who creates things while under influence of drugs - it is still his mind creating things, not the drug itself, right? And we generally have our subjective opinions about drugs overall, so lets keep this to ourselves.

In my particular example, some drugs opened my eyes up to making organic and textural music. Mostly based on the idea that everything is made from sets of subsets, textures, fractals, organic subatomic levels. Therefore I adapted this "cosmic" understanding to my music and started creating organic sounds.